Time for Change

Lent started yesterday with Ash Wednesday.  Although I am not very good at attending church this is a season I have always loved.  Lent is a time of change, giving things up, starting over, trying new things, all in hopes of being a better person.  It is like New Year’s to me.  I love New Year’s resolutions!  I make out a long list every year and set out to accomplish something.  In reality each year has about the same goals and I usually end in failure.  I am a hopeful person so I get up and try again.  I believe that as long as I am alive there is hope.

So here I am for Lent.  Looking at my life I know there are many things that need work.  Since I plan to run UTMB in August I decide it makes since to clean up my diet.  My favorite diet is the tomorrow diet which I am always on.  I can say it does not work well because tomorrow never comes.  I do not think I eat bad now but I am addicted to red wine, margarita’s, and chips and salsa.  I love these things.  I also love Red Bull, Cheez-it’s. and jelly jeans.  Along with eggs these are my favorite things.  Maybe I do eat bad. Anyway, that is all going to change for the next 40 days.  I plan to eat real food, mostly foods with no ingredients or at least with ones I can pronounce.  A diet of no sugar, grains, or dairy.  The goal is to break my addiction’s to food, especially sugar.  I hope to see more energy and a clearer mind.  I would like to run faster too!  (that may require more than just change in diet, speed work would help!)

How would I become a better person by doing this?  Hopefully I find an inner strength I have not known before.  I hope by me becoming who I am suppose to be allows others the freedom to do the same.

” Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.  Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.  It is our light not our darkness that most frightens us.  We ask ourselves, Who am I not to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?  Actually, who are you not to be?  You are a child of God.  Your playing small does not serve the world.  There is nothing enlightening about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.  We are all meant to shine, as children do.  We were born to manifest the glory of God that is within us.  It is not just in some of us: it is in everyone.  As we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.  As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates other.”  quote from <Arianne Willamson

I think I am more afraid of winning than failure.  And I fear that I may die before I do whatever I am suppose to do..  That is the reason I am writing this blog.  This is a journey  for me to find my place and speak the truths that I know.  I am growing old and change is now or never.  dscn0902

 

Leave a Reply

